Setting Goals

Standard

Image

Remember Bob? Paralyzed by fear of…well…everything? We can learn a thing or two from Bob Wiley because he faced his fears and overcame them. Hopefully we won’t need to be strapped to fifty tons of dynamite to learn how to get moving.

Let us examine. You sit down at your computer and turn it on. You are going to get a few hours of writing done, dag nab it! Even if it kills you. You notice your FB icon and you say to yourself, “I’ll just check really quick to see if there is anything I need to attend to. A half an hour later you are chatting online with your bestie three states away and you’ve accomplished nothing.

This kind of thing happens more often than you might think when a writer has an unfinished MS. I was at a writing group meeting once where we were discussing our writing habits. One guy said. “I have to stop finding excuses not to write and just sit down and start typing!”

Writing can be really hard. Writer’s block sucks big time and we often feel overwhelmed by the task of completing a story and doing it well. Great writers everywhere have moments of doubt, believing they aren’t skilled enough to conquer the beast. This is when many of us chicken out and find something else to do. This is how books don’t get written.

SET GOALS. If you set goals for yourself and force yourself to stick to those goals you’ll be surprised at how much you get done, and you might actually finish that manuscript! Nothing good comes easy and as the saying goes “you get out of it what you put into it”. So stop making excuses and start setting goals. Your book wants to be done and your story wants to be told!!

 

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

