ONWARD!!!

Standard

Well ladies and gentlemen, Nano is reaching its end. We are days away from the deadline. During the process I have seen champions cross the finish line in a matter of days and proceed to 80,000 words. I have seen those who have said “I’m out. Sounded like a grand ol’ time but you all suck. I’m leaving.” (She didn’t really say that but I’m pretty sure that’s how she felt.

Image

Nano isn’t easy. We all know this going in. The ease of NaNo really does depend on how seasoned a writer you are once you begin. If you’re used to writing several hours a day, NaNo really isn’t that big of a change for you and it’s well worth it to get rewards and prizes when you’ve reached a goal that you reach all the time but never get recognized for. But it also shows the new writers what writing as a career is actually like. NaNo is a good example of what it takes to be a successful, prolific writer. It can let you know up front if you truly are “cut out for this”.

If writing is what you want to do, finish. Get that Nano done, even if it’s pure crap. (Most first drafts are). And if you gave it your all and didn’t finish, do not despair! You are in good company and the folks at Nano will still recognize you as a serious writer who gave your best! There are rewards for participants too, even if you don’t finish!

Image

Heads held high NaNo folk! Keep going you can still make it! And most of all, you are all winners!!

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

