Obstacle Courses and Other NaNoWriMo Therapy

Standard

As we embark upon week three of NaNo I felt it would be a good idea to check in and make sure we all have our NaNo support systems functional and NaNo lifelines in tact. None of us…not a one has to suffer through this alone. NaNo is a group effort where we grapple through together, supporting each other, reaching down into the trenches of “I’m stuck” and pulling each other out. Swinging rope to rope over the muddy waters of writer’s block and really bad writing with only an occasional flash of “hey! That was actually pretty cool!” to keep you going.

It brings to might the Tough Mudder challenge, an obstacle course of insanity for the mentally unstable. A friend of mine signed up for this event a few years back.

Image

What is Tough Mudder you ask? Tough Mudder is the sportsman/athlete version of NaNoWriMo, or at least that’s what the participants would have you believe. As a past spectator of Tough Mudder I will tell you in confidence that it is the CRAZY person’s version of NaNoWriMo…not that any of us writers are sane. But I don’t believe anything writers do during NaNo could cause them to pass out or possibly die (unless a person drinks herself to death or overdoses on coffee.) I don’t ever recall swimming through water while dodging electrodes while trying to come up with a riveting story line.

Image

I have never been faced with diving into a vat of ice water to smooth out lines of dialogue,

Image

nor have I ever encountered a massive wall one must physically climb over to finish 50,000 words.

Image

And last but absolutely not least, these “sportsman/athletes” CRAZY people pay lots of money to be tortured. NaNo will torment us for free!

What does this all boil down to? When you’re feeling overwhelmed by the NaNoWriMo challenge, think of the insane folks who put their lives in physical danger at great costs (both physical and monetary) to get the same satisfaction we get out of writing, and be grateful that your brand of insanity allows you to stay home and stay alive.

Image

Now go grab your vice, whatever it may be and get to writing! I can almost guarantee their won’t be a hospital or ambulance ride at the end…at least I’m about 95% sure.

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

