Why Novel Writing is Not for Math Nerds

Standard

math nerds

I don’t think anyone has any idea how time consuming writing a book is until they have actually attempted to do so, and I don’t just mean throwing a bunch of words on the page, I mean creating a captivating idea and shaping it into something interesting and relatable to human readers. (unless of course you have the privileged opportunity to write for extraterrestrials at which point you will have to go to them for desired reader criteria.)

In my humble writing beginnings a close family member- one close enough to insult me and feel fine about it- asked, “So how many pages have you written?”

“About twenty five.”

He chortled before me. Chortled. “I’d have 300 pages written by now!”

It was a moment where 72 different reactions and emotions run through you all at once…you know…we’ve all had them. Rather than punch him in the face I realized the extreme naiveté of those who have never written a novel. Anyone can throw down 300 pages of crap in no time at all. Writing is an art, a craft. It takes skill. (This family member is a “math” person).

Writing a book can take a few months to do if you are a genius writer- and I do know authors like this. But most writers need many months, sometimes years to really create something readable and enjoyable which is why we devote so much time to it. Dean Koontz writes ten hours a day. Those of us who work jobs independent of writing are up until two and three in the morning hammering out details and creating new ones. But you don’t have to commit this much time to completing a book. It isn’t a race. Make it good. And if you only have one hour a day to devote to it, devote that one hour and keep going. Only you know your schedule. No self abuse allowed!

Remember writing is difficult. Few people who begin ever finish. So work within your own ability and pat yourself on the back- and for heaven’s sake ignore the “math” people!!

 

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

One response »

  1. Please don’t ignore me. I supported you in your math struggle and very much in your book writing. LOL. I don’t mind smacking so called family member for you. It’s the cocky one right. (:

Leave a Reply

