Hats Off to Writers!

Standard

Image

Artists are brave, any type of artist. Singers, actors, dancers…they work tirelessly to reach a level of skill that will inspire an audience and despite constant training and effort they often receive rejection, sometimes for years at a time. Does this sound familiar, writers?

Human beings shy away from critique or criticism. It doesn’t feel good to be told you aren’t good enough, You’re not getting it yet, It’s not quite there. Sometimes it’s a blatant attack (some critics add a dose of chili powder!) But artists forge ahead. This includes us, writers. We are artists. We create. It can take years to learn and a lifetime to perfect, but we forge ahead because we love the craft. We learn to listen, take notes and improve and even in certain cases ignore what is being said about our work.

Image

 

Bottom line? We are brave. It takes guts to put yourself out there in front of a world who expects perfection, who expects to be “wowed”. We work sleepless nights, rewrite, edit, trash, begin again, cluster, research, character build- our hearts go in deep with a very realistic possibility of being crushed and we still move on.

Take a moment to pat yourself on the back. You’ve written a book (or haven’t given up yet). THAT in itself is an enormous achievement! Keep going! You may hear complaints. But as much as they may complain…the world needs us, and we are the only ones brave enough to endure the road to applause!

 

 

 

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

