It’s All Material!

Standard

Image

A fabulous author I know heard this from a fabulous author she knows, and she passed it on to me. She said, “Nothing bad ever happens to a writer. It’s all material!”

How true is this? I mean, I’m not going to take away terrible times in your life and say they weren’t bad or left no mark, but really this is true. Think about your past, or maybe something that happened just a week ago, or even today. That’s a story waiting to be told! 

Here is your weekend assignment: “When did we start getting homework?” you ask. (that’s not the assignment by the way. YOU asked the question- and don’t try to pretend like you didn’t.) Occasional assignments will improve your writing skills so stop whining and listen up:

Get a bucket or a hat or something that will hold paper bits. Write down each year from now back to the last event you can recall with clarity. (If your brain works like mine that will consist of today and yesterday so it may not be too compelling).

Cut them into strips, put them into the hat, shake it all around and draw one out. Look at the year and think about something that happened to you during that time period. It doesn’t have to be monumental. You’d be amazed at what can create a fantastic story. Then get a move on and write! See what you come up with. I’ll bet it’s more than you thought it would be…:0)

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

