Why Don’t We Ever Learn?

Standard

Image

So I lay in bed at night now and freak out because I went to see “The Conjuring”. Let’s discuss thrill seeking and how ridiculous it is. Human beings often do not learn from experience. Often we repeat actions that thrill us even if we’ve had a negative reaction to it. This means we are stupid. Depressing…I know.

I, like many out there, enjoy a quality ghost story. I am not a slasher fan. I want a plot and characters I can sympathize with or deeply loathe- much like my needs when searching for a good book. But here’s the thing: I see a movie advertised, looks super creepy (the thrill), and I say- usually out loud even if no one is there to hear or respond because that’s just the kind of guy (girl) I am- “Oooh I have got to see that!!”

Then recruitment begins. Other scary movie, thrill seeking cronies are contacted: “Hey, we gotta go see this movie- it looks horrifying.”

“Oh yeah we do!!”

Image

So me and the BFF go to the theater, spend the entire (and I DO mean entire) movie in each other’s laps until the woman in front of us tells the BFF to stop kicking her chair every time she leaps forth in terror. BFF apologizes and we continue freaking out for the rest of…well, I could say the movie, but the freaking out has lasted for two weeks. This is where I ponder the human brain and its inability to learn from experience. We don’t ever touch a hot stove twice. We don’t usually go running around barefoot in snow once we figure out how blasted freezing it is. Why then is that that we dismiss the long lasting, crippling terror that follows watching a scary movie? I am a tired person! I need sleep! But I can’t sleep because I am also terrified…as I knew I would be…but I didn’t care…until I got home…alone…to what I am certain is a possessed house that one cannot possibly sleep in without getting killed.

Sad thing is, I know darn well I’ll do it again. Next time a good scary flick emerges, I’ll call the cronies. I’ll ignore the fact that I can’t handle it. Hey! Good stories are good stories- whether in movie form or book form or “old guy on the porch telling his life story” form. We love to be entertained. We love a good thrill. Which is why I will never  learn, nor will I ever sleep again.

 

 

 

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

2 responses »

  1. You could call me too but I’m boring and don’t easily scare anymore. I do however quite often run through the snow in bare feet. I’m not sure what that means for me.

Leave a Reply

