For the Love of All Things Patriotic

Standard

fireworks

Yes, I know it sounds as though I will dive into a patriotic theme or tribute…perhaps sing the Star Spangled Banner, Kiss a returning soldier…(hmm…that one I could do…)

While all these activities are honorable and worthy of my time(and yours) I am actually going to complain about traffic. Have you ever attended a fireworks show? Of course you have! (If you haven’t, please don’t admit to it here. I haven’t the time to deal with your unpatriotic nature OR the resulting comments from those who will berate you for your unacceptable behavior).

Leaving a fireworks show is only doable if you are on foot or on a bike…or if you are fortunate enough to have “on demand” airlift services at your disposal. I wasn’t even at the fireworks show. I foolishly forgot about the uncontrollable mass chaos created by such an event when I volunteered to give someone a ride home precisely at 9:30 p.m. Yep. Could I possibly be more dense? I don’t think so. It was like Spring Break in Fort Lauderdale. Inconceivable masses of people migrated from the park. I had no idea there were this many people on the planet, and ALL of them decided to come HERE all at once. I have no doubt the earth shifted to the right, leaning haphazardly on it’s axis as the entire world congregated in this one tiny place.

I found myself wedged within a permanent traffic grid lock, cursing the roads, cars and the sheer stupidity of several drivers. I nearly ran out of gas. Not kidding. Evacuating for a hurricane came to mind- you know- folks parked on the highway running out of gas in an attempt to escape impending doom. Well, I wasn’t escaping impending doom. I attempting to escape the self induced prison of my own stupidity, chastising myself for willfully plunging right in the middle of madness. No one to blame but myself. It took me two hours to make a thirty minute trip.

Hopefully you all had a wonderful 4th of July. I love my country. I love the traditions we follow to celebrate our freedom. I think I just need to be more mindful of my own personal freedom when it comes to providing transportation during the celebrations. Either that, or I need to buy a helicopter.

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

