I Think That I Shall Never See…

Standard

I will thank the great poet, Joyce Kilmer for my opener. But I am not talking about trees. Nor do I feel that unending snow and cold weather are lovely. MY poem would go something like this…

“I think that I shall never see, a face as cross as the one on me.

Image

 

It’s going to snow again, they say. I heard this news the other day. 

I packed my coats, I planted flowers. They’ll all be dead in a couple of hours.

The convertible top is down you know. The car will soon be filled with snow.

Image

“Put it up, old fool!” you say. No! the snow won’t win today!

Just watch- in my flip flops I’ll go, strutting through three feet of snow.

Image 

Won’t get me down, won’t stop my Spring. I’ll simply just ignore the sting. 

A top the snow pile on my seat, I’ll start my car with purple feet.

My hair shall fly until it freezes. Disregard the coughs and sneezes. 

When I reach my destination, my face devoid of all sensation.

Image

Folks will say, “That crazy coot.” But you’ll not see me in a boot.

For it may snow, the slush all clotty, all man kind may think me dotty.

But damn it- spring is here by gum! I’ll not let this spoil my fun! 

I’m running out of things to say. I’m tired, it’s late, I’ll hit the hay.

Until the summer comes to stay, I’ll fantasize it is mid May…and only God can make a tree! 

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

