The Untapped Power of a Sports Bra

Standard

Pink sports brablue sporst braBlack sports bra

Is it really that weird? I think not. Whilst attending my writing group a new member asked us to divulge what we all do just prior to writing. “What motivates you to get started right before you sit down to your computer?”

The responses were many, and varied – “I swim laps.” “I listen to music.” “I find every excuse in the book NOT to sit down and write.”

These are all believable motivators (or procrastinations…which ever applies). We writers are many! We are unique! Different things set off different minds, which is why I don’t understand why everyone laughed when I said “I put on a sports bra.”

 

Now, let’s analyze this scenario. I am Katie Thayne. I do not do things in a usual fashion, in fact I usually do things the hard way – planned or not. It’s just how I roll – planned or not. Fact is I don’t have a lot to do with how or why my mind does what it does, it just does its thing and I follow along because, really what choice do I have.

I put on a sports bra to illicit creativity! That’s what I do! You cannot fathom the inspiration a tight fitting, padded spandex/polyester blend binding the bosom forthwith can do to open the imagination!

If you don’t believe me I implore you to try it – men and women alike! If it does nothing for you…well, you’re just weird.

 

About Katie Thayne, Author

Katie Thayne (that's me, kind of, seeing as how Katie Thayne is a pen name) is an up and coming author (or so I'd like to think). I have just released my first book, Ms. Impractical Pants, and am currently working on its sequel. I don't have a name for that one yet, so let's just call it Sequel for now. If I'm not working on Sequel, I'm scratching down ideas for the other half dozen or so book ideas swirling around in my brain. Okay, that's a lie, I don't write them down as much as I should, but I still think them, so that should count for something, right? I live in beautiful Moab, Utah and when I'm not writing- on second thought, I won't go there. Let's pretend I sit in a quite office hunched over a keyboard and do nothing but write. The most important thing to know about me, is just because I write doesn't mean I can punctuate. That's why I have an editor- but not for this blogging stuff. Editors ain't cheap and I'm not J.K. Rowling...yet. But I hope that won't keep you from reading my blog.

2 responses »

  1. lol. Maybe I’ll put on a sports bra next time I need motivation to work…at work…in my office. I’ll just bring a sports bra in my purse for those “lacking motivation” moments which, let’s be honest, are quite frequent. Hell, Maybe I’ll just wear a sports bra to work every day. I like to pretend that playing a game of solitaire on the computer motivates me. (But I suspect it’s more of a procrastination activity than a motivating one… haha.)
    Love your book, love your blog. Can’t wait for more books!!

  2. Ashley, you should do it. Maybe together we could start a sports bra revolution and change the world’s outlook and productivity. Maybe we could push for a ‘Senators in Sports Bras’ day.
    I’m telling you, if you need a mental boost, don a sports bra. It works! I like to think of it in terms of Pavlov’s Dogs. My breasts, (or is it my mind?) are conditioned to produce endorphins when I dress for exercise. I don’t have to do anything, but my brain is firing as if I’ve done a whole hour of Brazilian Butt-Lift. …The muffin top, however, is a different story.

Leave a Reply

